Computer Science Advisory Board

The Advisory Board helps the Computer Science Department stay current with the new trends in the workplace and provides very important advising regarding our curriculum. The board meets in person once a year (typically early in the fall semester), but the communication is open throughout the year via email. Many of the past and recent changes in our curriculum are due to our conversations with the advisory board.

Board Member

Member Affiliation
Nasser Al'Ahmad Cargill (BS Computer Science 2003)
Karen Bolda Expedia
Michelle Brush Cerner (BS Computer Science 2001)
Tim Ceradsky Compuware (BS Computer Science 1993)
Melissa Crouch Sprint (BS Computer Science 1996)
Thomas Daniels Iowa State University (BS Computer Science 1995)
Craig Gehrke Macquarie Holdings (BS Computer Science 1999)
Richard Hedgepath Aceyus (BS Computer Science 1996)
Chris Hill City Utilities of Springfield
Kirk Jones Independent Contractor (BS Computer Science 2006)
Laura Kleekamp (BS Computer Science 1984)
Gary Kochan Enterprise Holdings
Rich Miller Burns & McDonnell
Jeffrey Outlaw Garmin (BS Computer Science 1994)
Pete Sanderson Retired - Otterbein University
Michael Shepard Jack Henry (BS Computer Science 1992)
Lewis Stone Duck Creek (BS Computer Science 2006)
Kirk Strauser Amino (BS Computer Science 2000)
Gary Wall

Hewlett Packard (BS Computer Science 1999)

Karla Williams O'Reilly Automotive

From the advisory board

Picture of Peter Sanderson

Dr. Peter Sanderson came to MSU in 1992 after working for eight years as a software developer. He describes the next nine plus years as living the dream. He loved his classes and his students. In 1999 he became department head and led the successful ABET re-accreditation effort the following year. Soon thereafter, family matters drew him and his wife Nancy back to their home state of Ohio. For the next 16 years, he taught computer science at Otterbein University, serving as department chair for six of those years and retiring as Emeritus Professor in May 2017.

However, Dr. Sanderson never lost his devotion to MSU and the computer science department. Upon his departure, he established a scholarship fund to assist deserving students. When the Computer Science Advisory Board was established, he readily accepted Dr. Lloyd Smith’s invitation to join it. The department depends on the Board to keep it aware of evolving trends and needs in the workplace so it may adjust its programs to prepare
graduates for successful careers. Dr. Sanderson describes his role as an academic member to be providing an informed independent view on curricular matters. He feels honored to have served, and we are very grateful for his leadership and contributions to our department.